New Florida driver standing next to car with set of keys
Learner's Permit Course    $22.00

State of Florida Driver License Course

This 4-hour learner's permit course is required for all first time drivers before they can get their first Florida license (Class E learner permit). The START course fulfills the State's requirement for attendance of a Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) program, also sometimes known as a drug and alcohol course.

  • Fun, easy course with video (not just reading)!
  • No driving to a classroom, no 4-hour lecture
  • Trusted national course provider
  • Take the course on your schedule
Gainesville teen smiling as she drives for the first time

Getting your State of Florida driver license

Step 1

You should complete your learners permit course. Before you can fill out your first State of Florida driver license application, you must complete a DHSMV approved learners permit course such as the one we offer on our website. You might have heard this course referred to by other names, such as Florida license course, Florida driver license course, Florida drug and alcohol course, Florida learner permit course, or START course online.

You can sign up for the Florida learners permit course right here! Just click on the picture to the left or the sign up button above to get started.

Step 2

In addition to completing your Florida learners permit course, you will have to pass a vision test, a driving skills test, and submit proof of identity before the State of Florida will issue you a State of Florida driver license. In order to submit proof of identity, you will need to bring your birth certificate, social security card, and / or other documents to the driver license office.

Passing your driving skills test is critical to getting your first State of Florida driver license. You will need to demonstrate your proficiency behind the wheel in the presence of a driver license examiner. Passing this part of the application process will be much easier if you practice as much as possible driving in many different types of environments, preferably with a behind-the-wheel driving instructor.

Without appropriate vision, you won't be able to pass the State of Florida driver license vision examination. Make sure you bring your eyeglasses or contact lenses to the driver's license office or you will have to return and be re-tested.

Step 3

The only written test you will have to pass to get your State of Florida driver license is the Class E road signs and road rules examination. The Class E exam consists of 20 questions on state of Florida road rules and 20 questions on state of Florida road signs. You must take this test in person at a local driver license office.

If you don't pass the test the first time, you will be able to attempt it again, so don't worry about not receiving a State of Florida driver license if you fail the first time. To help prepare you for the State of Florida driver license road rules and road signs test, you should carefully review the state of Florida drivers handbook.

1-800-222-9199