Female Jacksonville driver who passed her driver license test
Learner's Permit Course    $22.00

Learners Permit Course

This 4-hour learner's permit course is required for all first time drivers before they can get their first Florida license (Class E learner permit). The START course fulfills the State's requirement for attendance of a Traffic Law Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE) program, also sometimes known as a drug and alcohol course.

  • Fun, easy course with video (not just reading)!
  • No driving to a classroom, no 4-hour lecture
  • Trusted national course provider
  • Take the course on your schedule
Blonde student in vehicle with Florida driver ed teacher

Why do I have to take a Florida learners permit course?

The State of Florida requires that all new drivers complete a Florida learners permit course (also known by several other titles, including Florida learner permit, learner permit, or drug and alcohol course) before obtaining a Florida Class E learner permit. If you are ready to get your first Florida driver license, you need this Florida learners permit course!

The good news is that you can now take your Florida learners permit course online! That's right, you don't have to sit in a classroom for four hours. Just take a few minutes to register for this easy Florida learner permit course and you can get started right away. You don't have to finish the whole Florida learners license course in one sitting; you can log in and out and complete the sections at your own pace.

What is the course like?

Unlike any other Florida learners permit course, ours has lots of video, graphics, and even Flash exercises to keep your attention on what you are learning. This makes the time go by faster. Many teens who don't know about this excellent learners permit course get stuck with one that forces them to spend four hours reading boring statistics. Don't make the same mistake they did!

When you complete the Florida learners permit course, you will receive a completion certificate to take with you to the Florida driver license office when you go there to apply for your Class E learners permit.

IMPORTANT NOTE FOR TEENS: This Florida learners permit course won't prepare you for your Class E exam (road signs and road rules test), so don't forget to study the Florida Driver's Handbook before you take your Class E exam.

IMPORTANT NOTE FOR ADULTS: If you have been licensed in another state, you do not need to take the Florida learners permit course. However, if you have been licensed in another country, you might need to take this cheap Florida learners permit course. If you are not sure whether you need to take a Florida learners permit course, call your local Florida driver license office.

1-800-222-9199